Skip to main content

Table 2 Diagnostic Breast Pathology Assessment Tool Hierarchy (B-PATH) mapping categories for test set cases

From: Development of a diagnostic test set to assess agreement in breast pathology: practical application of the Guidelines for Reporting Reliability and Agreement Studies (GRRAS)

Primary clinical diagnostic category All diagnoses included in primary clinical diagnostic categories
I. Non-Proliferative* Non-Proliferative only
II. Proliferative changes without atypia Usual ductal hyperplasia
Columnar cell hyperplasia/columnar cell changes
Sclerosing adenosis
Radial Scar/complex sclerosing lesion
Flat epithelial atypia
Intraductal papilloma w/o atypia
III. Atypical ductal hyperplasia (ADH) Atypical ductal hyperplasia
Intraductal papilloma with atypia
IV. Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) Ductal carcinoma in situ
V. Invasive breast cancer Invasive (ductal or lobular or other special type)
  1. *For development of the test set, cases were categorized according to the highest ductal proliferative or malignant lesion present on the slide. When only lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS) or atypical lobular hyperplasia (ALH) was present (n=2), we categorized cases as non-proliferative.